States with Non-Discrimination Health Insurance Bulletins

Updated: May 23, 2016

In 2012, California became the first state to ban the widespread insurance practice of line-item exclusions for transition-related care. Since then, departments regulating health insurance in 15 more states have issued statewide non-discrimination bulletins, which eliminate the discriminatory practice of line-item exclusions for all transition-related care. Some states, like California, have issued follow-up statements clarifying that no treatments can be categorically excluded, and that insurers must consider the medical necessity for each patient on a case-by-case basis.

In 10 states, Medicaid programs have explicit non-discrimination protections as well (California, Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, New York, Oregon, Vermont, and Washington).

In May 2016, the federal Department of Health and Human Services issued regulations on section 1557 of the Affordable Care Act, which is the non-discrimination section. These regulations included specific, detailed language that says discrimination based on gender identity is illegal under federal law. To read more about what this means for you, check out our fact sheet.

To understand how these bulletins can help you, check out our guide to appealing health care denials.

Contact Us


Transgender Law Center
PO Box 70976
Oakland, CA 94612-0976

For donations:
Transgender Law Center
P. O. Box 741803
Los Angeles, CA 90074-1803

Media Requests
EIN (tax identification number): 05-0544006

phone: 510.587.9696
collect line for people in prison and detention: 510.380.8229

Please note that our capacity to answer calls is unfortunately limited; we encourage people to call between 10am and 5pm Pacific time and/or write to us at the PO box above


Charity Navigator Four Star Charity Seal