EVERY THURSDAY
Live on TLC’s Facebook Page
ASL, Spanish, and CART Live Captioning Provided

The coronavirus pandemic and our government’s failed response has drastically reshaped our lives for the immediate future, and likely for many months and years to come. But even prior to this pandemic, our governments and institutions kept many of our trans communities in a permanent state of crisis, which is now exacerbated by the coronavirus.

While governments falter, our collective imagination shines. Trans leaders have always been here. We know how to take care of another amid isolation and struggle. We know how to protect one another. We have vast collective wisdom to draw from, wisdom that our elders and ancestors have built for centuries.

Our communities are only as strong as the circles of care we create. Let’s use this opportunity to provide a space of solace, political education, and resource sharing. RSVP for our virtual community gatherings here. The schedule is below, and each week we’ll go in depth into the ways this crisis impacts the many intersecting experiences of our communities. We will be updating it with specific topics soon! We’ll be providing Spanish and ASL interpretation. The video will be recorded and embedded in this post afterwards for those who miss the call.

Session 1, Friday, March 20th, 2pm-3pm PT / 3-4pm MT / 4-5pm CT / 5-6pm ET

The Big Picture: How Trans People Can Support Ourselves and Each Other

Session 2, Friday, March 27th, 12-1pm PT / 1-2pm MT / 2-3pm CT / 3-4pm ET

The Black Trans Women and Black Trans Femmes on the Frontlines of the Coronavirus Crisis 

Session 3, Friday, April 3rd, 2-3 pm PT / 3-4pm MT / 4-5pm CT / 5-6pm ET 

A Virtual Vigil to Hold Community Grief

Session 4, Friday, April 10th, 2-3 pm PT / 3-4pm MT / 4-5pm CT / 5-6pm ET 

Life Planning for Trans Communities in Pandemic Times

Session 5, Thursday, April 16th, 2-3 pm PT / 3-4pm MT / 4-5pm CT / 5-6pm ET 

Disabled: Not a Burden, Not Disposable | Video will be posted soon! 

Session 6, Thursday, April 23rd, 4-5 pm PT / 5-6pm MT / 6-7pm CT / 7-8pm ET 

An Offering of Hope from Trans and Queer Migrants | RSVP HERE.

About

Transgender Law Center (TLC) is the largest national trans-led organization advocating self-determination for all people. Grounded in legal expertise and committed to racial justice, TLC employs a variety of community-driven strategies to keep transgender and gender nonconforming people alive, thriving, and fighting for liberation.

Contact Us

Transgender Law Center
PO Box 70976
Oakland, CA 94612-0976

phone: 510.587.9696
collect line for people in prison and detention: 510.380.8229

Media Requests
EIN (tax identification number): 05-0544006

subscribe